Nora Aunor and Ricky Lee among newly nominated National Artists for 2022

MANILA, Philippines — Malacañang has conferred the high honor of National Artist of the Philippines on eight outstanding individuals, including legendary actress Nora Aunor and screenwriter Ricky Lee.

Also declared National Artists for 2022 are the late director Marilou Diaz-Abaya, the late director Tony Mabesa, the late fashion designer Salvacion Lim-Higgins, the dance choreographer Agnes Locsin, the poet Gémino Abad and the musician Fides Cuyugan- Asensio.

The Palace made this statement on the joint recommendation of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Presidential Proclamation No. 1390.

The title of National Artist is the highest recognition given to Filipinos who have made a distinct contribution to the development of Filipino arts and culture.

According to the NCCA, in addition to the citation, a newly conferred Living National Artist will receive a medallion, a cash award of P100,000.00 (excluding tax), a lifetime monthly pension, life insurance coverage, a honor at all state functions, national memorials and cultural events they attend, and will be allocated arrangements and expenses for a state funeral, which will be buried at Libingan ng mga Bayani.

Posthumously conferred National Artists will receive the citation and medallion, and P75,000 in cash will be awarded to the next of kin or family-designated representative.

The latest group of national artists was announced in 2018, consisting of musical composer Ryan Cayabyab, director Kidlat Tahimik, author Resil Mojares, late visual artist Larry Alcala, late playwright Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, late writer Hiligaynon Ramon Muzones and the late architect Bobby Mañosa.

RELATED: KWF awards Nora Aunor the title of language champion

About Michael Terry

Check Also

Famous Jewish musical artist Rick Recht appearing at Brith Shalom, November 11-13

Congregation Brith Shalom presents a Rick Recht Weekend, November 11-13. The event is part of …