Symphony in C Brass and Organist Matthew Smith in concert at Haddonfield on November 7th


originally published: 10/11/2021

(COLLINGSWOOD, NJ) РThe Symphony in C Brass, a 10-piece ensemble will collaborate with organist Matthew Smith for a free concert at Haddonfield United Methodist Church on Sunday, November 7, 2021 at 4:00 p.m. The concert will be conducted by Paul Bryan. This diverse program includes two selections by Venetian composer Giovanni Gabrieli, an arrangement of the Virtual Choir 2020 hymn by Eric Whitacre Sing Gently and the magnificent Grand Choeur Dialogue by French composer Eug̬ne Gigout, arranged for organ and brass.

The concert is free, but you can register in line. COVID-19 vaccination masks and documents required. Please have proof of vaccination ready to show. The concert will last one hour without an intermission. The Haddonfield United Methodist Church is located 29 Warwick Road at Haddonfield, New Jersey.

Matthew Smith is organist at Haddonfield United Methodist Church. Matt received a Masters of Music in Organ Performance from Westminster Choir College in May 2017. Born and raised in Geneva, Ill., He attended Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, where he earned a Bachelor of Arts in Music with a concentration in Organ and Piano. While there he worked mainly as an accompanist for the vocal faculty studios and as an assistant music director / keyboardist in the pit orchestra for various musical theater productions. He received first place in the Joan Lippincott Competition for Excellence in Organ Performance at Westminster Choir College in February 2017 and has given organ recitals at various venues including Princeton University Chapel and the Marble Collegiate Church in New York.

Paul Bryan has a distinguished career as a performer and educator. In addition to being dean of the Curtis Institute of Music, he is director and conductor of Bravo Brass, the brass ensemble of the Philadelphia Youth Orchestra; musical director of the Philadelphia Wind Symphony and Symphony at C’s Symphony Summer Camp; and conductor of the Young Artists Summer Program at Curtis Summerfest.

Mr. Bryan has been a conductor of the Drexel University Orchestra and of Philadelphia’s All-City Concert Band; and has performed with the New York Summer Music Festival, Play On, Philly !, and numerous honorary groups in the Delaware Valley. He has conducted concerts with a wide range of groups, wind and brass ensembles from the Philadelphia Chamber Orchestra to Boyz II Men.

Mr. Bryan is a graduate of the Curtis Institute of Music and Temple University, where he studied trombone with Glenn Dodson and Eric Carlson and conducted with David Hayes, Arthur Chodoroff and Lawrence Wagner. He joined Curtis’ staff in 1993, became a faculty member in 2009, and was appointed to his current position in 2013. He is also a faculty member at Temple University.

This FREE CONCERT is made possible in part by funds from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts, the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation, the Presser Foundation, the Horizon Foundation for NJ, the Frank and Lydia Bergen Foundation, the William G. Rohrer Charitable Foundation, and the TD Charitable Foundation. Symphony in C is a member of ArtPride and the South Jersey Cultural Alliance (SJCA).

Symphony in C is one of three professionally-trained orchestras in the United States that prepare musicians and conductors for world-class careers through concerts, outreach programs, and professional development. Symphony in C serves over 90,000 people each year through its critically acclaimed concert series, outreach programs and radio broadcasts. Symphony in C has been named a Major Arts Institution by the New Jersey Arts Council and strives to continue to make an artistic, educational and economic impact regionally, nationally and globally.

Advertise with New Jersey Stage for $ 50 to $ 100 per month, click here for more information


About Michael Terry

Check Also

A large canvas of 16th century Spain

CHICAGO—“Don Carlos” is considered by many opera lovers to be Verdi’s greatest work, and for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.